As part of my journalism course, I need to have a Twitter, Facebook and WordPress account (hence why I am here). Which is great really – I know what’s going on with my friends, with world events from the marvellous to the mundane (Justin Bieber’s haircut, for example…) through Twitter’s power of the immediate spread of information, and then I get to comment on it all, right here on WordPress.

I wish there was some way of sending a witty statement to my colleague over there without having to open my mouth - is what this person is thinking, I bet.

Lately, I’ve been hearing so much praise for social media – it’s immediate! It’s more interactive with audiences! It’s a great research tool! It’s a great employment-seeking tool! And trust me, I’m on the social media bandwagon too –  I’ve tweeted this to the world (all 47 followers).

But one thing that really irks me about our increasing need to connect and be a part of social media is the distraction. It has taken me half an hour to type what is already on here, simply because I am also doing the following:

1. Checking and sending emails

2. Checking Facebook when I receive a notification. I am currently relying on Facebook as a means to discuss a group radio assignment, as well as gathering feedback from Facebook friends about our assignment topic.

3. Checking Twitter

4. Checking a poll I’m conducting for said radio assignment.

In the meantime, I’m also feeling guilty that I’m missing tonight’s edition of 7.30, Media Watch and Q&A, important journalism viewing of course!

But the fact is, to make it in the journalism industry nowadays, you simply MUST have all of these social media platforms, and keep up with the daily events of the world around you.

But with this reliance to constantly be in the know, how are we able to get things done?

Sarah Wilson echoes my thoughts in yesterday’s Sunday Life article. Procrastination has become a problem.

For the chronic procrastinator, sites such as Freedom and Anti-Social have been flourishing. With internet usage becoming a social norm, procrastination is also rising, and therefore, the ability to work efficiently is faltering. But this is particularly difficult when we rely on social media (the epitome of distraction) for our work.

I guess I have a fair way to go in my self-regulation practice before I become a fully fledged journalist…

